The Faith Required

Good Lord people. I know I haven’t updated my blog in a long time. I know I told you I would, and then didn’t. It’s been hard to motivate myself to get on this thing. Other stuff has been on my plate, and sadly the blog suffers in those times.

I’m at home still from a bit of a Thanksgiving day break. I shot the game Thursday night, and realized I had been on national TV when after a 5 yard TD run by Christine Michael, I got a flurry of text messages saying things like, “DUDE! You were just on TV!!” Thanks to all of you who let me know. Sadly, Jen and my family both missed that magical moment, my 15 minutes if you will, but I’m glad some of my adoring public was able to see it happen.

Coming home brings back lots of memories. Things like Thanksgivings past, old habits, and relationships that have taken a backseat in recent times. Though, it is good coming back. Realizing that to some people you’ll always be that 17 year old with a car who thinks they know everything. This is likely to be the case the rest of my life, and I’m not entirely convinced this is a bad thing.

It feels really good to have someone on your side. I know, I live in a wonderful community with wonderful people who I know really do care for me. There is just something to having a history with someone. A shared experience that lets you know everything is going to be fine. I like being able to dream with people I’ve known for years. They have a sense of where I’ve come from, and often have a wonderful way of looking at the things that might come.

No one ever told me that my mid-20’s would be a time of change. You set yourself up for change in high school (though, most of that change really sucks, and you don’t like it at the time, and if you’re like me, you don’t really like it int he rearview mirror either), college allows you to find an identity that you choose–one that isn’t determined by your parents, your friends when you were 5 years old, or the place you grew up–one that can be more of who you really are, but post college…well that’s a world I still don’t understand. It’s exciting though. This feels like the first time in my life where the rubber is starting to meet the road. Where the things I’ve become, and the people I’m starting to do these things with more and more, are really what I like seeing in myself.

That past history is fun, and it is important to me to be able to look back at it with fondness. But it’s the future that gets me really excited. The person I’m to become, the person that I’m to do that with, and the ways and means by which that will happen. Who knows what in the world life will be like in five years. I don’t. I think that might take some of the fun away from it…to know exactly what will happen before it happens. I like the not knowing, and the faith that is required to do that.

Hmm… here are a few pics from Thanksgiving night at Kyle Field. The Aggies lost 49-39 but put up a hell of a fight. I love those big games, and hopefully next year we can have a few more big time moments!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Faith Required

  1. tim

    well played pics, son. (son like slang – not like paternity)

  2. Dang Andrew! Those pics are great. I am really impressed. I am excited about the things to come too!

Leave a Reply

